FIFA Announces 16 Host Cities for 2026 World Cup

  • FIFA announced the 16 North American cities that will host the 2026 World Cup.
  • New York and Los Angeles were among 12 selected U.S. cities.
Joe Nicholson-USA TODAY Sports
Copy Link
URL copied to clipboard

On Thursday, FIFA announced the full slate of cities that will host the 2026 World Cup, selecting 16 among 22 contenders in the U.S., Mexico, and Canada.

The U.S.-based hosts include the country’s largest cities, as well as some mid-sized sports hubs. The world’s biggest sports tournament is coming to:

  • Atlanta
  • Boston
  • Dallas
  • Houston
  • Kansas City
  • Los Angeles
  • Miami
  • New York/New Jersey
  • Philadelphia
  • San Francisco/Bay Area
  • Seattle

Every U.S. bidder other than Orlando pitched the use of an NFL stadium.

Toronto and Vancouver made the cut, as did Mexico City, Guadalajara, and Monterrey. Mexico will be the first country to host the World Cup three different times. This will be Canada’s first time hosting.

The U.S. will host 60 of the 48-team tournament’s 80 games, including every game from the quarterfinals onward.

A 2018 study by The Boston Consulting Group claimed that the 2026 World Cup would bring an economic impact of $5 billion to North America, or $3 billion to $4 billion after factoring in investments required for playing facilities and the expected surge in tourism.

Missing the Cut

FIFA had more contenders than available slots, necessitating cuts from the list of applicants, including Cincinnati, Nashville, Denver, Orlando, Edmonton, and a joint bid between Baltimore and Washington, D.C.

URL copied to clipboard